The Board of Trustees

The day to day operations of the Not for Profit Corporation are attentively administered by a full time team of managers and staff that are both professional and passionate.

Incorporated as a not for profit corporation by a special Act of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada on August 10, 1850, the official name of the corporation is The Cataraqui Cemetery Company (the Corporation).  In 2014, the trade name of Cataraqui Cemetery and Funeral Services was introduced to help the community better identify with the breadth of service that are now offered since becoming a provider that includes cemetery monument, cremation and funeral services.   The Corporation is also a registered charitable organization.  It is important to note that as not for profit organization, the members consist exclusively of the interment rights holders (lot owners)

The Cataraqui Cemetery Company Board of Trustees (the Board) remains ultimately accountable and responsible for all aspects of the Corporation.  The duties and responsibilities of the day to day operations as well as the care of the cemetery have been delegated to the General Manager.  With direction received from our Act of Incorporation (1850), our own by-laws and Ontario's Funeral, Burial and Cremation Services Act, (2002), the Board, the management team and the staff offer a variety of bereavement services to the public and the Interment Rights Holders.  Interment Rights Holders are assured that all of the revenue that is generated and received by this not for profit Corporation will be responsibly managed and directed back into the corporation for the  perpetual care of the Cemetery as well as its obligations. 

Consisting of five volunteer trustees, who are Interment rights Holders that are nominated and elected by the Interment rights Holders, the Board is trusted with the responsibility of guiding the Corporation in all of its business requirements, decisions and operations as well as the cemetery's care & maintenance obligations.  The Board reports to the Interment Rights Holders (membership) at the Annual General Meeting.

The Board has established and regularly consults with its own group of Advisory Members; a group of dedicated community volunteers that aid the Board and the management team in guiding the organization's policies, actions, responsibilities, events and initiatives.  Advisory Members are individuals that have demonstrated an interest in the well-being of the Corporation as well as its future course and they are willing to regularly offer their time, experience and efforts to the Corporation.  Advisory Members are not required to be Interment Rights Holders.  Advisory Members are invited (not elected) to serve at the pleasure of the Board of Trustees.  They are members of the community, who present varying perspectives, opinions, skills, backgrounds and experiences.

If you (or someone your know) is interested in guiding the future of this historic organization by perhaps joining The Cataraqui Cemetery Company Board of Trustees or the Advisory Board, we welcome you to please contact us to learn more.

The Cataraqui Cemetery Company Board of Trustees for 2017

Charles R. Simonds, President

K.C. (Gus) Panageotopoulos U.E., Vice President and Treasurer

Dr. Rowland Tinline, Secretary

Stu Godkin, Trustee

Douglas M. Slack, Trustee

Advisory Members for 2017

Prof. Helmut Binhammer

Barbara A. Bonner U.E.

J.N. (Tony) Clark

David J. Cowan

Edward R. Grenda

Floyd Patterson